Monday, September 1, 2008

G8 countries meet in Japan in parallel with EU Summit

A G8 meeting was held in Japan in parallel with the EU summit on September 1. In addition to other significant issues the Chairmen of the Parliaments of G8 countries discussed the situation in Georgia.
Seven countries of G8: Japan, Germany, France, Italy, Canada, USA and Britain condemned the recognition of independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia by Russia, which is the other G8 member. Russian Duma chairman Boris Grizlov attended the meeting, which woulds last until September 3.

No comments: